The Cosmetic Ultralounge

When Did This Become Hotter?

By Gunner Glam

There are women who were deemed truly attractive in the past although may not be considered beauty symbols today.

Studio Brow would like to share our take on how shock value has diminished over the last few decades.

For example Marilyn Monroe was a size 14 and today at best, she could hope to become a plus size model.

These days the desired size is a zero and “thinner the better” reigns supreme.

If people are naturally thin, then they should embrace their body size and shape. However, this trend has led to a generation of women for whom starvation is the norm and food has become the enemy.

Rather than something that nourishes the body and something that we can find pleasure in, far too many women live on calorie restrictive diets, mourning every single morsel that they ingest, for fear that it will add that one extra inch that will be too many.

Being thin has become so idealized, that it is suggested women need to lose weight before they start living their lives.

The best people can hope for in overweight bodies is to disappear quietly into the background, so as not to offend others with their presence.

These changing norms are not solely about progress, they are about about keeping women completely off balance and chasing an elusive dream.  In turn helping feed the multi million dollar diet and exercise industry.

As soon as there is a new diet, there is a crazy rush to embrace it before it can be determined whether or not people will actually benefit from it.

Every new year,  there is a rapid rise in gym memberships, as people promise that this is the year that they are finally going to get in shape.

Change can happen but most people regain the weight within five years plus a few additional pounds.

The idea that people should strive to be as healthy as possible, rather than struggle to squeeze oneself into a shape and size that is unnatural for them is not embraced these days because it would mean self contentment and a loss of revenue for the diet and exercise industry.

-More coming soon from Studio Brow-

35 responses

  1. mommywritervkent

    As someone who works with celebs, I would like to say… this is an accurate observation and opinion. Good post. It is sad that so many people starve themselves these days just to be accepted because they see people in the public eye who do the same. I do however know many celebs who don’t follow the trends, but instead live happily being who they are… I wish Hollywood would promote them instead of the others who in secret battle with eating disorders just to please their public. Thanks for posting this!

    February 1, 2012 at 4:17 PM

  2. Great post! I wish we could teach women to love themselves instead of hating their bodies. I know I used to equate happiness with being thin. Im so glad I no longer subscribe to that belief.

    February 1, 2012 at 4:38 PM

  3. Reblogged this on A FRESH START and commented:
    This is so true…sadly

    February 1, 2012 at 5:38 PM

  4. I don’t know…and it’s too bad. Often the stick-figured woman looks most un-womanly. Great post!

    February 1, 2012 at 6:11 PM

  5. mlsexton88

    What’s sad is that I’m a size 14 and that’s not even considered plus size anymore. So I guess in the modeling world I would be obese. Great post though! I wish people could be more appreciative of plus size women.

    February 1, 2012 at 6:55 PM

  6. Today of all days… as I sat here scrutinizing my weight gain of a mere ten pounds (post quitting smoking). I feel better after reading your post.

    I’ve worked HARD over the years to keep my weight steady, through a lot of focused exercise and by eating very, very healthy and have managed to do so, for about 13 years. Even though I’m 43 and have had two kids after the age of 31. I was determined to not get that baby belly that never went away.

    That is till I stopped smoking. Then I did gain those elusive ten lbs. that everyone swore I would get! UGH!

    So while I’m sure I’m healthier still, I have been beating myself up seeing all these gals on TV that are a size zero… whatever that is!?

    I also have a very naturally curvy body with pronounced hips. I hope that someday there are more gals with curves who creep into the mainstream media and stop this madness of anorexic models. It’s not healthy and is such an insult to the majority of women.

    Don’t get me wrong, I have no issues with someone who works out and is trim and healthy from eating well and exercise. What I cannot get behind is that lean, STARVED look that most of these models have.

    There is lean and healthy and there is dangerously underweight.

    It seems to me in reading what types of bodies that men really adore, they want something curvy to hold onto. Not a coat hanger.

    That is after all part of why they like us gals!

    February 1, 2012 at 7:01 PM

  7. Living a healthy lifestyle is very important. Trying to take diet pills and weight-loss supplements and buying crazy gym equipment is not a healthy lifestyle. It is just allowing somebody to make a profit off you.

    Cool post, good insight 🙂

    February 1, 2012 at 8:08 PM

  8. Thank you for discussing this very critical issue! Healthy is beautiful, and diversity is enriching! We need to correct this trend and learn to seek health over a single aesthetic standard!

    February 1, 2012 at 8:56 PM

  9. That’s why we created our 4 perfumes: eMpowered, eMpassioned, eMpulsive and eMmoral. We don’t want women to think that the only reason they should wear perfume is to attract a man. We want women to wake up in the morning and think “how do I feel today?” And THAT will be the perfume they wear that day. It’s solely for them.

    February 1, 2012 at 9:48 PM

  10. society is strange: bizarre that unattractive unhealthy bodies are the ideal standard. maybe this is a reflection of an illness in our unhealthy unattractive culture.

    to answer the question quite literally, i believe it was coco chanel who slowly started the trend towards thin “garconne” bodies, and the tanning came in style with her nautical clothing line. it slowly picked up in popuarity over the decades, was slowly fostered and grown- like a bad seed- the bad idea seed got nurtured by other bad seeds and so it grows.

    February 1, 2012 at 11:22 PM

  11. I have no idea, but it’s really scary. It’s great to be healthy and fit, but boney ain’t cute!

    February 2, 2012 at 3:15 AM

  12. Good point!!

    February 2, 2012 at 3:33 AM

  13. allthatglitterz4

    Love this post!! Granted, some women are naturally slender, and even super slender, and every one should feel comfortable in the skin they were given. But gong to extremes to be skin and bones isn’t my idea of being ‘healthy’. Love my curves, would never want to get rid of them !!

    February 2, 2012 at 5:32 AM

  14. As a professional photographer, it is so much easier to photograph models/people who are correctly proportioned, rather than the “zero” some people want to see. Wrong lights and poses on “zero” models can look awful. I know i,ve done it.
    Great insight into the different decades of sizes.

    February 2, 2012 at 8:56 AM

  15. I truly appreciate this post and thank for publishing it. I was thinking about this the day it was published and was glad to see similar thoughts in print. Thanks, Jay

    February 2, 2012 at 7:17 PM

  16. amen to this article right here, 4 real 😉

    February 2, 2012 at 8:54 PM

  17. The other is still hotter. I just happen to be super skinny because of my metabolism but I have know issues with having curves. Having a bit of weight looks so much better in my opinion. BTW. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    – Faith Seeker
    FashionbyFaithSeeker.com

    February 2, 2012 at 10:54 PM

  18. Calosini

    Couldn’t agree more. Funny to think Ms Monroe may have been considered ‘fat’ if she existed in our current time!

    February 3, 2012 at 10:34 AM

  19. Reblogged this on syostofficial.

    February 3, 2012 at 4:47 PM

  20. great post this is so true

    February 5, 2012 at 9:25 AM

  21. I also don’t see anything pretty in skinny girls who aren’t skinny naturally. Health is the most important thing and to feel good in her body! http://madrilicious.com

    February 5, 2012 at 11:24 AM

  22. I know! Its so crazy…

    February 6, 2012 at 2:26 AM

  23. My husband has a name for me: “curvalicious”! I need to lose a few pounds to be my healthiest. But I would never want to be model slim as I would not be me.

    February 6, 2012 at 6:34 PM

  24. While I agree that the celebrities of the past in the image are more attractive than the present-day ones shown (they look healthy instead of skeletal…), I still believe that a nutritious diet coupled with adequate exercise is the best way to go, for men and women of all ages. Healthy is beautiful!

    February 8, 2012 at 5:37 PM

  25. Great post – I totally agree.
    People are way too focused on being thin/skinny and not healthy. It’s really sad!

    February 9, 2012 at 5:16 PM

  26. lmwills1

    I love this! I, myself am a size 14 and in the modeling world I’d be obese! Not even plus size! And I’m healthy! Great post.

    March 9, 2012 at 6:30 PM

Leave a Reply

