The Cosmetic Ultralounge

How Often Should You Wash Your Hair?

By Gunner Glam

Studio Brow drives to deliver the best customer service possible and through the web deliver tips on ways to stay beautiful.

Here is some advice on washing your hair on a regular basis, according to an article on Yahoo.com:

About 90 percent of Americans shampoo on a daily basis.

A hundred years ago, people only washed their hair monthly and in the 1950s, it was customary for women to have their hair washed and set once a week at the salon.

A clean head of hair feels fresh and smells great but over-washing can turn one’s healthy locks into a pile of straw.

The average person’s hair grows less than half an inch per month so long strands that have been subjected to a lot of shampooing (as well as chemical treatments, blow drying and the elements), tend to get dried out and dull at the ends and even break off. Dirtier hair-gasp-also holds a style better.

How often you need to shampoo depends on how oily your scalp is and your hair’s texture. Oil-known as sebum-travels more easily down smooth, straight hair, making it look greasier faster.

Sounds a little gross, but sebum helps moisturize and waterproof the hair shaft. This is one reason why curly or coarse hair is drier.

When you wash every day, you typically strip off this natural moisturizer and then have to slather it back on in the form of commercial conditioner.

Joe Murray, owner of Hale Organic Salon in New York City, told Yahoo! Shine that shampooing a couple of times a week is plenty.

“If you can’t stand a being a little oily,” Murray said. “Then coat your wet hair with conditioner up to the ears to protect it and then just wash the scalp.”

On gym days, try simply rinsing with water instead of shampooing and finish with a light conditioner to detangle.

Another tip Murray offered is to “spot clean around the hairline with a little dry shampoo. It will also help stretch the time between blow outs.”

Shampooing does stimulate the scalp, which brings blood flow and healthy nutrients to the hair follicles. As an alternative, Murray said he is a fan of a gentle daily scalp massage and regular brushing with a good quality hairbrush.

People with flaky scalps may be inclined to shampoo frequently, but dermatologist and spokesperson for the American Academy of Dermatology, Nia Terezakis, MD said this can actually exacerbate the problem.

“When you have a flaky scalp its not dirty, its dandruff or a form of psoriasis,” she explained to Yahoo! Shine. “Use a shampoo formulated for dandruff and let it sit on your scalp for 20 seconds before rinsing.”

You can follow up with a separate shampoo and conditioner of your choice, “But don’t scrub,” she advised. “It will flake even more.”

When you choose a shampoo, Terezakis said to pick a product that is made for your specific hair type whether it be oily, dry, limp, curly, etc.

“Companies spend a lot of money on cosmetic chemists and different products really do work.” One exception: “Baby shampoos aren’t necessarily gentle on adult hair,” she warned. “They are made because babies squirm. They don’t sting the eyes but they can be drying.”

If you are used to washing your hair daily, it can take a few weeks to get used to a new routine. You may be over producing sebum to compensate for stripping the scalp. Gradually increase the days between shampooing and see if your hair becomes healthier and takes more time to appear dirty as a result.

-More coming soon from Studio Brow-

25 responses

  1. This makes me feel better lol 🙂 My skin dries out easily and also I have a hard time standing very long because of health issues. So I shower every other to every two days….I don’t sweat much etc so it works out. But if my hair happens to be too oily and I’m in a hurry…I’ll put baby powder in it. My Mom taught me that trick. Well, thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    March 22, 2012 at 4:36 PM

  2. Good tips and very clearly outlined! 🙂

    March 22, 2012 at 4:36 PM

  3. I usually wash my hair every other day or every 3 days. Sometimes if I feel it’s needed then I will wash it everyday, but I rarely do that! I never thought it was good to wash it everyday!

    March 22, 2012 at 5:34 PM

  4. Great post!

    March 22, 2012 at 7:52 PM

  5. I love this post and this blog.,I Just feel guilty because i have neglected my hair this month.

    Thanks 🙂

    March 22, 2012 at 10:01 PM

  6. Long's Leopard Lifestyle

    Great post. Some good info in there.

    March 23, 2012 at 12:53 AM

  7. thebehenjialterego

    thank god you posted this! What about south asians who oil their hair though? And another query; why do many women wash their hair on separate days? Like they have a ‘hair wash day’…I don’t understand!

    March 23, 2012 at 1:22 PM

  8. socialshan

    I remember reading this on yahoo. Great post, I try so hard not to wash everyday haha.

    March 23, 2012 at 5:21 PM

  9. I usually wash my hair about twice a week. It’s so much better that way.

    March 24, 2012 at 7:25 PM

  10. I’ll stick to shampooing once a week! ❤

    March 28, 2012 at 4:09 AM

  11. My scalp gets sooo dry, so I tried sulfate-free shampoo, but that doesn’t help either:/ Well I haven’t seen any results yet.
    What should I do???
    Now I’m trying out the Moroccal oil treatment. What’s the truth about the Moroccan oil treatment for your hair????
    Xo,
    Jey.

    April 2, 2012 at 4:23 PM

  12. Now I’m going to try out the new Dove Oil hair care..maybe that’ll work, for frizzy dry hair. Any ideas about that?

    April 2, 2012 at 4:24 PM

  13. Great information! And, thank you for stopping by and giving my blog on A Study of Bees a like!

    May 18, 2012 at 10:10 PM

Leave a Reply

